Open Agenda is an annual competition aimed at supporting a new generation of experimental architecture. Open to recent graduates, Open Agenda is focused on developing the possibilities of design research in architecture and the built environment.

This national competition is intentionally broad in its scope, and dedicated to fostering new discussions on architecture in the public realm. An initiative of the School of Architecture at UTS, past winners have been graduates from Australian and New Zealand universities including, Sydney University, RMIT, Canberra University, UTS and Victoria University in Wellington, exploring a broad range of topics relevant to current Architecture discourse in Australia.

Photography by Peter Murphy

2013 News Flash

A unique opportunity this year for the 2013 winners who will be invited to participate in a special, high profile Architecture and Design Symposia event at the Opera House as part of the  Sydney Opera House, 40th Anniversary Celebrations in October this year.

More details to follow.

The Opportunity
Open Agenda will award seed funding to three exceptional design research proposals that explore new positions in architecture for critical consideration.

We are looking for text and graphic based proposals that seek to develop research through architectural design. Proposals will be evaluated on the strength of their research topic, their innovative approach to design as research, design quality and their potential for development as a public exhibition, lecture and publication. Proposals that explore new forms of media and communication in this context are welcome.

Graduates from a professional Australian or New Zealand degree in architecture in the last ten years (including and after 2003) are invited to submit a proposal. The Open Agenda competition registration form and proposal cover sheet can be downloaded here.

The Reward
Three proposals will be awarded seed funding of $2000 to be spent on the development of their research proposal towards a publication and a public exhibition. The three teams or individuals will also be present a public lecture on their work in Sydney at a major public event to be announced shortly.

Terms and Conditions
Click here for full details, terms, and conditions.


Submission Requirements
1. Registration for competition and $50 fee by 28 June 2013, download here
2. Max 10 x A4 page illustrated proposal as a PDF (file size not to exceed 5MB) by 29 June 2013 with cover sheet

Registration Form and Cover Sheet

Friday April 26
Open Agenda Event at Object Gallery
Presentations, drinks and competition launch

Friday July 12
Registrations Due

Saturday July 13
Entries Due

Friday July 19
Jury meeting Friday

Monday July 22
Winners notified, Announcement of winners to follow.

Friday August 30
Text deadline, installation proposal approved

Friday October 25
Public Presentation (venue to be disclosed at later date)

November 1 - 10
Sydney Architecture Festival Opening

March 2014
Book launch, OA 2014 Launch

Anthony Burke, UTS Architecture

Competition Co-ordinator
Rebecca Thomas

David Burns, UTS Photography and Situated Media

Web Development
Benjamin Coorey

Advisory Panel
Andrew Benjamin, Monash University
Richard Goodwin, UNSW COFA
Michael Bell, Columbia University GSAPP
Craig Allchin, Six Degrees
Pia Ednie-Brown, RMIT
Bob Perry, Director, Scott Carver
Marisa Yiu, CUHK
Nicolas de Monchaux, UC Berkeley
Diego Ramirez-Lovering, Monash University



Media Partner

AR Logo

Open Agenda Gallery
coming soon
2013 Winning Proposals
A () Holey Territory
Samaneh Moafi
Architectural Espionage and the Superpanopticon
Lucy Warnock
Self Obliterating Architecture
David Neustein

Image credit : Erased elevation drawing of the Sydney Opera House by Jørn Utzon, 1956

The following projects were given an honourable mention - DeMechanised City from I-Wen Kuo, Andrew Bret, William Harvey-Jones and Benjamin Sheehan and After Mining : What happens next? from Langzi Chiu and Vesna Trobec
2012 Winning Proposals
The encounterculture
Timothy Moore, Jono Brener, Qianyi Lim, Amelia Borg, Nicholas Braun, Alan Ting, Jane Caught, Jessica Brent
Atmospheres of  Architecture
Robert Beson
Bizarre Locations
Tina Salama
The following projects were given an honourable mention - The Acephalous Mouth from Samaneh Moafi and 8 bit lequeu from Jessica In and Gwyllim Jahn.
2011 Winning Proposals
Potential Futures for Architectural Practice
Rory Hyde (RMIT, 2005)
The Cars that Drank Lake Eyre
Nick Sargent and Mark Leong (Victoria University, Wellington 2005)
Greater Western Sydney Special Economic Zone
Daniel Fink (USYD, 2009)

The following projects were given an honourable mention - Vernacular Differentiation from Dirk Anderson, Eduardo de Oliveira Barata and Tim Manning, Flanuer's Delerium from Sebastian Hamilton and Barrington Gohns and Cell to Surface from Shayani Fernando and Miruna Sladescu
2010 Winning Proposals
architecture drawing
Byron Kinnaird and Barnaby Bennett (Victoria University Wellington, New Zealand graduates)
(in)human habitat
James Gardiner (UTS/RMIT graduate)
David Pigram and Iain Maxwell (University of Canberra/AA/GSAPP graduates)